The official Instagram page of Iron Maiden posted a couple of new photos to share the details of the upcoming album named ‘Senjutsu’ as well as the thoughts of the band members including Bruce Dickinson.

According to the press release, Maiden’s seventeenth studio album is ready to be released on September 3, 2021, and features ten never-released-before tracks. The recording will be released as Standard 2CD Digipak, Deluxe 2CD Book Format, and 180G Triple Black Vinyl. The band also plans to release Blu-Ray and Exclusive Memorabilia Digital Album starting Wednesday, July 21.

While sharing all new information about the album, Maiden also revealed the thoughts of the bassist and keyboardist Steve Harris, and the lead singer of the band since 1981, Bruce Dickinson, in the caption of their recent Instagram post.

According to Bruce, the songs in the album are varied and Maiden fans will be surprised after hearing one or two songs that sound quite different from the usual style of the band’s sound.

Steve Harris expressed his excitement with the following words:

“We chose to record at Guillaume Tell Studio in France again as the place has such a relaxed vibe. The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did ‘The Book Of Souls’ in that we’d write a song, rehearse it, and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds.

There are some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”

Here are Dickinson’s words about the new album:

“We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it back in early 2019 during a break in the Legacy tour so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long setup period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video.

Of course, the pandemic delayed things more – so much for the best-laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies!?’ The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There are also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised – in a good way, I hope!”

The band also released the tracklist of the album which is:

1. Senjutsu
2. Stratego
3. The Writing On The Wall
4. Lost In A Lost World
5. Days Of Future Past
6. The Time Machine
7. Darkest Hour
8. Death Of The Celts
9. The Parchment
10. Hell On Earth

You can check out the album covers below.

Photo Credit: Iron Maiden – Instagram