Def Leppard recently shared the tracklist of their upcoming album entitled ‘Diamond Star Halos’ via a post on their official Instagram page. The band also released a song called ‘Kick’ and said 2022 would be their year.

It has been quite a while since their fans saw new material from Def Leppard, as they had not been producing any studio albums since their self-titled work in 2015. Their eleventh studio record was the first since their 2008 album named ‘Songs from the Sparkle Lounge,’ marking the longest gap between two studio albums in their career.

Though they were about to surpass that longest gap between two new releases, Def Leppard announced their twelfth studio album called ‘Diamond Star Halos.’ The record is scheduled to be released on May 27, 2022, and the band has been working on this upcoming album over the past two years.

As they have been gradually revealing details about the new album, Def Leppard recently shared a post on their Instagram account to give further information. In addition to the release date, the artwork, and the upcoming album’s tracklist, the band released a brand new song named ‘Kick.’ 

Here is how they gave the news:

“Ready to ignite 2022, Def Leppard returns with their twelfth full-length album, ‘Diamond Star Halos,’ on May 27, 2022. To herald the arrival of ‘Diamond Star Halos,’ the band has released ‘Kick,’ a powerful and rip-roaring new rock single from the album.

The artwork design for ‘Diamond Star Halos’ follows pedigree with instantly recognizable album covers from their celebrated past and follows the band’s influence through their eyes today.

2022 is the year of Def Leppard.

Stream & Pre-order links in bio.

Diamond Star Halos Tracklisting
1. Take What You Want
2. Kick
3. Fire It Up
4. This Guitar [feat. Alison Krauss]
5. SOS Emergency
6. Liquid Dust
7. U Rok Mi
8. Goodbye For Good This Time
9. All We Need
10. Open Your Eyes
11. Gimme A Kiss
12. Angels (Can’t Help You Now)
13. Lifeless [feat. Alison Krauss]
14. Unbreakable
15. From Here To Eternity”

With another post they shared on Instagram, Def Leppard reflected on the album’s making. Apparently, they recorded it in three different countries simultaneously. Under the pressure of schedules, they came up with 15 songs that represent influences on the band, such as David Bowie, T. Rex, and Mott The Hoople.

The caption of the post follows:

“Over the past two years, Def Leppard recorded ‘Diamond Star Halos’ simultaneously in three different countries. Without the pressure of timelines or a fixed schedule, they poured all of their energy into crafting 15 meaningful tracks with a mixture of classic spirit meets modern fire.

Thematically, they nodded to their earliest collective influences, such as David Bowie, T. Rex, and Mott The Hoople, among others. The title itself notably references T. Rex’s ‘Bang a Gong (Get It On).'”

You can see Def Leppard’s Instagram post and listen to their new song below.

Photo Credit: Def Leppard – Instagram