Metallica was shocked by a tragicomic censorship in their Shanghai, China concert yesterday. The songs on the Master of Puppets album were removed from the setlist due to the censorship policy of the China.

People’s Republic of China has a strict control mechanism for concerts in the country. All foreign groups who will give concerts have to inform the songs in advance. The Chinese government can censor the songs in this list and remove them from the setlist. We saw the last example of this in the Metallica concert yesterday.

Since 1985, at least one song from the album “Master of Puppets” has been played at all Metallica concerts. But for the first time in the concert yesterday, a song on the Master of Puppets album did not appear on the setlist. In addition, an important classic-hit song Seek And Destroy was also removed from the setlist.

In the concert, the songs titled “Now That We’re Dead”, “Atlas, Rise!” and “Halo On Fire” in the new album were played.

Metallica live in Shanghai, January 15, 2017

0. Ecstacy of Gold
1. Breadfan (Budgie cover)
2. Atlas, Rise!
3. King Nothing
4. The Memory Remains (followed by Kirk’s solo)
5. The Unforgiven
6. Now That We’re Dead
7. Moth Into Flame
8. Harvester of Sorrow (followed by Rob’s solo)
9. Halo on Fire
10. The Four Horsemen
11. Sad But True
12. Wherever I May Roam
13. For Whom the Bell Tolls (followed by Kirk’s solo)
14. The Day That Never Comes
15. Whiplash (Encore)
16. Whiskey in the Jar
17. Nothing Else Matters
18. Enter Sandman