Mike Portnoy, the ex-drummer of Dream Theater and current member of Sons Of Apollo, has announced that the long-awaited musical reunion of him with his former bandmate John Petrucci is out this Friday as he pointed out a great review about the album.

As you know, Portnoy and Petrucci have not been working together since Mike left Dream Theater in 2010. By John Petrucci’s upcoming solo album, which is named ‘Terminal Velocity,’ the old bandmates have come together to produce some great songs again.

John Petrucci, who has worked with the bass guitarist Dave LaRue, in addition to Mike Portnoy, recorded nine songs for the album. Began work on ‘Terminal Velocity’ in March, Petrucci spent 5 days a week and over 2 months writing and recording the songs at the DT headquarters in Long Island with longtime engineer James ‘Jimmy T’ Meslin.

Over the album, which is one of the biggest musical projects of 2020, Mike Portnoy shared his excitement. On his recent Instagram post, he admitted it’s hard to believe the wait is almost over and ‘Terminal Velocity’ will be out on August 28. Portnoy also shared the first review of the album by the Prog Report, that made an interview with John Petrucci a week ago.

Here is what Mike Portnoy said in his recent Instagram post:

It’s hard to believe the wait is almost over… The long-awaited musical reunion between myself and John Petrucci is out this Friday!!! In the meantime, here’s a great review of the album from Prog Report to get you excited!

You can see the post and John Petrucci’s interview with Prog Report below. Also, you can check out the review here, and click here to pre-save the album.