It’s happening… System of a Down drummer John Dolmayan just announced their new album, which will be release in 2017. In addition, they have 15 songs ready so far.

John Dolmayan interviewed by Kerrang Magazine, and he revealed exciting informations about their new album. He said:

We’ve been working on a new album for the last six months and there’s about 15 songs that I think are album-worthy. We don’t know what’s happening in terms of release, it’s still not 100% as far as plans go.

I want everyone on board and feeling good about it, that’s what we’re trying to accomplish right now. There’s a tremendous amount of pressure on us, though, because it’s been 11 years – at least 12 by the time it comes out.”

He also explained how will the new album look like:

Our playing ability is better than it ever has been and we’re trying new things. We’re not trying to make ‘Toxicity’ Part II, just because it was by far our biggest album. This needs to be something for a new generation of SOAD fans, so everyone can see we’re not resting on our laurels. I’m not gonna put my name on an album I’m not 100% proud of. I know there’s a lot of talk, we read a lot of it – trust me. Especially Shavo, he loves that shit!”

The fans are saying a lot of things, we understand their frustration and the fact it comes from a place of passion, for the most part. SOAD is definitely making an album, we just don’t know what terms it will be made on.”

System of a Down’s last album, “Hypnotize” was released in November 2005. The new album will be released after 12 years of waiting.